animated musical notesThanks for the Musicanimated musical notes
Country Music News for the Country Music Enthusiast

Celebrity Spotlight

County Music News

Association News

Nashville Association Of Talent Directors Celebrates Honorees At 6th Annual NATD Honors Gala

Honorees Back Row: P.K. Subban, Mike Smardak, Rod Essig. Front Row: Doc McGhee,
Randy Travis and Scott Hamilton attend the 2016 NATD Honors Gala at the Hermitage Hotel
on November 9, 2016 in Nashville, Tennessee. (Photo by Rick Diamond/Getty Images for NATD).

NATD Honors Rod Essig, Scott Hamilton, Doc McGhee, Leon Russell, Mike Smardak, P.K. Subban and Randy Travis Wednesday Evening

Presenters and Performers Included Martina McBride, Michael Ray, Marty Stuart, Warner Music Nashville's John Esposito, The Doobie Brother's John Cowan, Pete Weber and More.

The Nashville Association of Talent Directors (NATD) held their 6th Annual NATD Honors Gala honoring seven Nashville leaders at the Hermitage Hotel. The who's who of Nashville's entertainment industry joined together to present to honorees.

John Cowan of New Grass Revival Fame and current band member of The Doobie Brothers performed "Song For You" in honor of Leon Russell, veteran musician and member of both the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Songwriters Hall of Fame and presented the award to Leon Russell's daughters, Sugaree, Honey and Coco.

Red Light Management's Charlie Brusco and special guest, Martina McBride, presented to Rod Essig, Agent and Co-Head of the Nashville office of Creative Artists Agency (CAA). Mike Smardak, award-winning promoter and President of Outback Concerts, received his award which from Music Agent and Co-Head of CAA's Nashville office, John Huie.

The legendary Randy Travis was also honored; country artist Michael Ray performed a medley of Travis' hits with Marty Stuart presenting his award. Pete Weber, sportscaster and the voice of the Nashville Predators, honored Olympic Gold-medalist and one of the top defensemen in the NHL newly acquired by the Nashville Predators, P.K. Subban. The MWS Group's Chaz Corzine presented to Scott Hamilton, Olympic Gold-medal figure skater, actor, and speaker. Doc McGhee, industry visionary and accomplished artist manager who heads McGhee Entertainment, was presented his award by John Esposito, the CEO and President of Warner Music Nashville.

Franklin, Tennessee resident and Lipscomb University student, Mallory Corzine, was presented with a $5,000 scholarship. Corzine is studying to be a child life specialist and plans to work at St. Jude's Children Hospital, where she received treatment for and beat cancer. Throughout her treatment and surgeries for her brain tumor, she found sign language was a helpful way to retain her memory. This inspired her to minor in sign language and interpreting.

"NATD has been a Nashville music industry staple for nearly 60 years. Thanks to the support of our board and members, we have been able to continue the association's traditions while beginning new initiatives to continue to bring together leaders in our collective industries," said Steve Tolman, NATD President. "All seven of our honorees this year represent all that is good here in Nashville. They all are leaders in their fields whether it be music, sports or another entertainment form."

NATD was founded in 1958 and professionally represents, directs, and promotes the entertainment industry through its members. Today those members generate over $300 million dollars annually for Nashville-based artists. The organization not only serves as a forum for idea exchange among its members, it also serves as a vehicle for other facets of the industry to share information vital to the overall growth of the Nashville music and entertainment industry. NATD members foster camaraderie among "friendly competitors" which seems to be unique to the closely knit Nashville music and entertainment community. As part of its philanthropic program NATD provides scholarship funds for students showing exemplary performances in academics, civic duties, and personal goals. For more information, please visit

Past honorees include:

2015 - Mayor Megan Barry, Sarah Trahern, Charlie Brusco, Mike Wolfe, Peter Weber, Steve Lassiter, and Kirt Webster

2014 - Gov. Bill Haslam, Rob Beckham, Tim Corbin, Demetria Kalodimos, Michael W. Smith, JP Williams, and Charlie Daniels

2013 - Bernie Cahill, Tom Condon, Chaz Corzine, Martina McBride, Kevin Neal, and Bob Romeo

2012 - Mike Fisher, Clint Higham, John Huie, George Jones, Robert Williams and Alan Valentine

2011 - Alabama, Tony Conway, Mayor Karl Dean, James H. Gosnell Jr., and Barry Trotz



Celebrity Spotlight

County Music News

Association News

copyright Thanks for the Music, 1997-2008