animated musical notesThanks for the Musicanimated musical notes
Country Music News for the Country Music Enthusiast

Celebrity Spotlight

County Music News

Association News


Ingrid Andress Wins Overall Grand Prize For Her Country Song Footprints

Unsigned Only Music Competition has announced its 2016 winners, including those in the Country category. Selected from almost 6,000 entries across 13 genres of music, the winners represent some of the best unsigned artists worldwide in contemporary music. Unsigned Only awards more than $150,000 in prizes split among 28 winners, including a Grand Prize package of $20,000 in cash (US) and much more in merchandise and services.

Judges included high-profile recording artists Colt Ford, Frank Foster, Aimee Mann, The Struts, The Killers, Bone Thugs N Harmony, Lucero and many more. Also on the judging panel were music journalists from Rolling Stone, Guitar Player, Paste Magazine, Entertainment Weekly, LA Weekly, Yahoo Music, The Boston Herald, and more.

The overall 2016 Grand Prize goes to the gifted Country performer and songwriter Ingrid Andress for the song Footprints, which the judges noted for being flawlessly performed and deserving of a standing ovation. Her other Country song entry, They Were Right was also lauded by the judges. Andress wins $20,000 cash and much more in merchandise and services. She also receives one-on-one mentoring from a group of upper echelon music industry executives from Atlantic, Warner Bros., RCA, Epic, Razor & Tie, Disney Music Group/Hollywood Records, Nettwerk Music Group, Black River Entertainment, and others.

Hailing from Highlands Ranch, CO, USA, Ingrid Andress began her music career performing in the TV industry. After touring and singing on two seasons of NBC's The Sing Off as a part of the a cappella group Delilah, she attended Berklee College of Music on a vocal scholarship. An artist/writer for Arthouse Ent. and Universal Music Publishing, she now lives in Nashville where she collaborates and performs with various country and pop artists.

Founders Candace Avery and Jim Morgan state, Andress is a remarkable young artist who displays a great depth of talent and versatility, stretching out into the Country genre with a unique sensibility that is creative and current. The stripped down version of her winning song Footprints allows you to hear her raw, honest talent and undeniable gift as an artist and songwriter.

After learning that she had won the Grand Prize, Andress said, You always hear about this happening to other people, but I never thought it would happen to me. Its such an amazing and rare opportunity to have people care about you and your music. Its very inspiring to feel supported by an organization who just want you to do well because of your music ability and your love for your art.

Chris Buck Band and Cody Purvis also garnered honors in the competition, garnering First Place and Second Place in the Country category respectively. In addition to these winners, 12 other Country artists have been awarded an Honorable Mention (see below for a complete list of Country winners).

Chris Buck Band (New Westminster, BC, Canada) is awarded First Place for their song Leave Your Light On in the Country category. They are the BC Country Music Association (BCCMA) reigning 2015/2014 Country Club Act of the Year and 2015 Group or Duo of the Year. Having performed over 150 live shows this past year, they have earned the reputation as one of the busiest country performers on the West coast of Canada. Their winning song Leave Your Light On hit the Top 40 on the Canadian Country Radio Billboards chart.

Cody Purvis (Charlottesville, VA, USA) is awarded First Place for his song Sure Felt Like Goodbye in the Country category.His earliest memories are of listening to his parents as they performed in country music bands. He wanted to follow in their footsteps, and country music was something that rang true for him. Purvis recently finished his newest EP, Southern Thang, having searched for songs from the best of Nashvilles songwriting community, including award winners Dallas Davidson, Josh Hoge, and Thomas Rhett. These tunesmiths were eager to give their more traditional songs a voice and, to them, Purvis is that voice.

Unsigned Only judges included: Colt Ford; Frank Foster; Aimee Mann; The Killers; The Struts; Bone Thugs N Harmony; David Crowder; Aaron Shust; Lucero; Rapsody; Anthony DeCurtis (Contributing Editor, Rolling Stone); Kyle Anderson (Senior Writer, Entertainment Weekly); Josh Jackson (Co-Founder and Editor-In-Chief, Paste Magazine); Zach Long (Associate Editor, Time Out Chicago); Caine ORear (Editor-In-Chief, American Songwriter); Mike Molenda (Editor-In-Chief, Guitar Player); Sarah Jones (Editor, Electronic Musician); Lyndsey Parker (Managing Editor, Yahoo Music); Matthew Meadow (Editor-In-Chief, Your EDM); Jed Gottlieb (Music Writer, The Boston Herald); Kevin McNeese (President, NewReleaseToday); Andy Herman (Music Editor, LA Weekly); Suzanne Cadgene ( Publisher, Elmore Magazine); Sasha Geffen (Associate Editor, Consequence of Sound); Jim Farber (Music Critic); and Chelsea Perry (Editor-In-Chief, Noise Porn).
Unsigned Only is sponsored by: Berklee College Of Music; Bombplates; Celebrity Access; DAddario; Disc Makers; Eventric; Gretsch Drums; Groove 3; Indie Bible; Intellitouch Tuner; LANDR; Lurssen Mastering; Musicians Institute; Radio Airplay; Sony Creative Software; and The Music Business Registry.
Unsigned Only is now accepting entries for the 2017 competition. Information on how to enter can be found at
The 2016 winning songs can be heard at
The complete list of 2016 Country winners is as follows:
Country First Place
Chris Buck Band (New Westminster, BC, Canada) Leave Your Light On

Country Second Place
Cody Purvis (Charlottesville, VA, USA) Sure Felt Like Goodbye

Country Honorable Mentions

2 Steps Back (Lenapah, OK, USA) Back To Life
Steve Rivers (Nashville, TN, USA) Don't Come Here Tonight
Shae Dupuy (Cambridge, ON, Canada) Drink About It
Justin Rivers (Bowling Green, KY, USA) Gone Gone
Nora Collins (Brookfield, WI, USA) Guess I Woulda Known By Now
Simon Andersson (Malmo, Skane, Sweden) How Did I Get Here
Heather Longstaffe (Winnipeg, MB, Canada) Jack Daniels
The Mikele Buck Band (Greenville, NC, USA) Moonlight Kiss
Moonlight Social (Austin, TX, USA) Rub A Little Dirt On It
Trevor McSpadden (San Marcos, TX, USA) The Only Way
Ingrid Andress (Highlands Ranch, CO, USA) They Were Right
Will Carter (Katy, TX, USA) With You


Celebrity Spotlight

County Music News

Association News

copyright Thanks for the Music, 1997-2008